Dust Particle Project-Wednesday 4/13

The past few days I have been learning how to use more tools in photoshop to create work. Specifically, I have been working with layer masks and brushes to make effects. This project was about making a denigrating dust effect on an image of a person. I first started out with the magnetic lasso tool to cut out the image and then placed a series of masks on top to prepare for the coming steps. For the circles, I made a brush preset to make the denigration effect. Within the layer masking, I learned something new under the filter drop down called “Liquify”. This was used for one of the layers to make the background have similar color to the subject so the dots will be the correct color. In one mask, I took away the color of the subject with the dot brush and for the other mask, I added the colored dust particles flowing out. Lastly, I added her name and made the back text purple and the front white.

I am going to work more on background, but other than this, the project is complete. This has been my favorite project to complete so far because it was new and I got out of my comfort zone while making it.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started